Subscribe rss.gif

Recent News


2010 Annual Meeting

The agenda has been set for the 2010 Annual Meeting. The meeting will begin at 10:00 a.m. and members may participate via conference call.  Pre-registration is required, and pre-registered Member Representatives will receive call-in information via email.  Note: members may opt instead to attend in person at either the MCLS Indianapolis office, 6202 Morenci Trail, Indianapolis, IN 46268, or at the MCLS Lansing office, 1407 Rensen Street, Lansing, MI 48910.

The Member Representatives for each MCLS member library should have received a mailing explaining the proposed changes and the voting process, including instructions for registering for the meeting. Member Representatives or designated Alternates will be able to attend the meeting via conference call or in person at the Indianapolis or Lansing building. Our quorum requirement for the meeting is ten percent of the membership, 108 members. Please note that only Member Representatives or designated Alternates may vote at the meeting.


10:00 a.m. – Call to order, Nancy McGriff, MCLS Board Chair
10:05 a.m. – Roll call to establish quorum
10:15 a.m. – Presentation of by-laws revisions – Victor Liu, Chair, By-laws Revisions Ad-hoc Committee
10:30 a.m. – Q&A about by-laws revisions
10:45 a.m. – Roll call vote on by-laws revisions
11:00 a.m. – Election of Board members – Ishwar Laxminarayan, MCLS Vice-chair
11:20 a.m. – Report from the chair – Nancy McGriff, MCLS Board Chair
11:40 a.m. – Report from the Executive Director – Randy Dykhuis, MCLS Executive Director
12:00 p.m. – Adjourn

Dykhuis Presentation (PPT) McGriff Presentation (PPT)

Bylaws Background

The Memorandum of Understanding that was approved by the INCOLSA and MLC memberships in December 2009 specified that MLC’s bylaws would govern the new organization until the new board could review them and recommend changes. At the March board meeting, a task force was formed to review the bylaws and recommend changes. Victor Liu, library director at Washtenaw Community College, chaired the task force. He was joined by Pam Christensen, director at Peter White District Library, and Amy Harshbarger, librarian at Rose Hulman Institute of Technology. They reported back to the board at the May meeting with a revised document. The board voted to put the revised bylaws before the membership at the Annual Meeting.

For your convenience, you will find links to the current and revised bylaws below.

Current MCLS Bylaws (PDF) Proposed MCLS Bylaws (PDF) (Reposted Aug 20, 2010)

Board Election

For the 2010 election, the 14 seats that are up for election will be grouped so that the terms have staggered expiration dates. This will maintain continuity of experience on Board, while providing for new members to join the Board each year. The table below shows the seats and their expiration dates.

Seats that expire 12/31/2011: Seats that expire 12/31/2012: Seats that expire 12/31/2013:
• MI research • IN research • MI academic
• IN academic • MI public • IN public
• MI K–12 • IN K–12 • MI special
• IN special • MI At-large • IN At-large
• MI At-large • IN At-large

Slate of Candidates

Indiana Representatives

Academic – Janet S. Fore, Director, Cushwa-Leighton Library at Saint Mary’s College, Notre Dame, Indiana – term expires 12/31/2011
Public – Kelly Currie, Director, Delphi Public Library, Indiana – term expires 12/31/2013
Research – Jim Mullins, Dean of Libraries, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana – term expires 12/31/2012
School – Nocha Flick, Media Center Director, MSD Lawrence Township-Lawrence Central Library, Indianapolis, Indiana – term expires 12/31/2012
Special – Patricia Lunsford, Medical Librarian, St. Elizabeth Regional Health, Lafayette, Indiana – term expires 12/31/2011
At-Large – Rev. Robert Roethemeyer, Director of Library Services, Walther Library, Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, Indiana – term expires 12/31/2012
At-Large – Teresa Heidenreich, Director,  Washington Carnegie Public Library, Washington, Indiana – term expires 12/31/2013

Michigan Representatives

Academic – Elaine Logan, Associate University Librarian, Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti, Michigan – term expires 12/31/2013
Public – Metta T. Lansdale, Jr., Director, Traverse Area District Library, Traverse City, Michigan – term expires 12/31/2012
Research – Clifford H. Haka, Director of Libraries, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan – term expires 12/31/2011
School – Margaret Lincoln, District Librarian,  Lakeview School District, Battle Creek, Michigan – term expires 12/31/2011
Special – Denise Hooks, Director,  Mideastern Michigan Library Cooperative, Flint, Michigan – term expires 12/31/2013
At-Large – Victor Liu, Dean, Learning Resources,  Washtenaw Community College, Ann Arbor, Michigan – term expires 12/31/2011
At-Large – Raymond Arnett, Library Director, Fremont Area District Library, Fremont, Michigan – term expires 12/31/2012

Read more about the slate of candidates.

If you have questions about the Annual Meeting or if you did not receive the mailing, please contact Randy Dykhuis (ext. 119) or Ruth Dukelow (ext. 121).